UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: January 08, 2014

UNTHSC Dean elected to chair physical therapy accreditation commission

Claire Peel, Dean of UNT Health Science Center’s School of Health Professions, was elected the 2014 Chair of the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE).

CAPTE is the only accrediting agency for physical therapist and physical therapist assistant programs in the United States. Recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, the commission has accredited 218 physical therapist programs and 309 physical therapist assistant programs.

Peel, PhD, PT, FAPTA, has served on the accrediting commission for seven years.

Peel said it is an exciting time to lead the commission. This year, the commission will implement a new strategic plan that explores innovations in the accreditation process, which occasionally is criticized as too prescriptive.

“We want to maintain our standards but also look at whether we can do things a little differently to be more helpful to programs,” Peel said.

Peel joined UNTHSC in February 2013 from the University of Alabama at Birmingham, where she served in a variety of roles, including six years as Associate Dean for the School of Health Professions and four years as Associate Provost for Faculty Development and Faculty Affairs.

If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame